JONATAN ENGDAHL
Slider

About Jonatan

About Me 

I like food and to cook it. I love seeing new places by foot/bicycle or skis. Mostly Mountains..

Watching Tv-series is a lot of fun, my three favorite series are, Entourage, House of Card and Westworld.

People who inspire me is the skiers Petter Northug and Gunde Svan and the cyclist Peter Sagan. I like planing my own training and make analyses after every month or race, just to see if I’m in the right path. - ’’Go your own way’’ is something i strongly believe in. Which also makes the planing and training more interesting and fun.

Growing up

I grow up in a small village outside of Borlänge called Tronsjö. I have no idea when i stood on skis for the first time in my life, probably when i was 4 or 5 years old. My parents were professional cross country skiers and ski orienteers back in the days so it was natural that i started with cross country skiing when i was young. I joined Domnarvets GoIF short there after with my both brothers Petter and Johannes and parents Petra and Jonas.

A cross country skier was not what i wanted to be at first, but a ice hockey player. But due i was so short compared to the opponents i always left the games with a bad concussion. So when i started 9th grade in junior high i decided to give up my dream of becoming a hockey player and pursued to become a cross country skier instead.

High school

After struggling hard in my last year as a youngster i got approved to attend at the cross country ski high school in Åre. I started in Åre fall 2012 and my four years there just flew by. I got a lot of new friend and we had so much fun! In my first year I was really eager to learn everything about training and how to get better. Because i was a bit slower than my classmates i wanted to get equally good as them and later better. I improved a lot in that short time i was there, from ending up in the middle to the and of the result list at my first year in Scandic Cup (Swedish cup for juniors). I ended my time as junior with a third place in on of the Scandic cup races and a lot of positions in the top 15.

Now 

After graduation spring 2016 i found that being a professional athlete was my dream job, and decided to go for it! I joined a new club, Trillevallen Sportklubb with some of my classmates from high school. Now my summers and autumns are spent training in the valley in Åre or back home in Tronsjö and other place when i and together with the team are out on training camps. My winters are spent racing in Intersport cup (Swedish cup for seniors) and sometimes the Scandinavian cup (the cup below World Cup). So there is a lot of traveling so I'm basically living in a suitcase.

 

Slider

Merits

Skiing

2015-2016

4th(3rd) Scandic cup, 15k

17th Scandic cup 10k

18th Scandic cup 3k

3rd Daniel Karlssons minne

 

2016-2017

 

Coming up soon 

Trail Running

2nd u23 Salomon 27k 2016

2nd Skövde trail 21km

14th Peak-performance vertical K